Youth Board Applications Due June 30, 2022

Youth Board Brochure

Click on image to download the Youth Board Brochure.

2021-2022 Youth Board National Finals Apparel Sponsors

2021-2022 National Finals Youth Board Game Night & Ice Cream Social Sponsor

Interested in becoming a Youth Board Apparel or Event Sponsor for 2022-2023?  Contact IEA Sales Manager, Megan Taylor at


IEA Youth Board Statement of Purpose

The IEA Youth Board was created to provide adult members and leadership an avenue for which to hear the youth voice and to offer leadership opportunities to rider members.

IEA Youth Board Structure

The Youth Board will be structured as follows:

Newly installed Youth Board members will elect from themselves three officers: president, vice president, and secretary. The three positions must be filled with riders who are in upper school.

The IEA has appointed Susan Wentzel and Montana McKnight as IEA Youth Board Advisors for the 2022-2023 competition year.

The student representatives will be elected within their area as described below to serve a one-year team. Past members must apply again.

IEA Youth Board Duties

The IEA Youth Board members will:

  • Act as a voice for the IEA membership population;
  • Meet monthly via conference call/Zoom to discuss issues;
  • Assist with presentation of class awards at IEA National Finals;
  • Assist in social media contributions (online games, contests, activities, photo journals, etc.);
  • Promote the #rideiea hashtag on social media through official youth board postings;
  • Represent the IEA as youth ambassadors at various outreach and marketing programs throughout the year;
  • Research and promote potential scholarship opportunities for IEA members;
  • Lead a meeting for all IEA members in their zone at their zone show;
  • Hold one fundraiser per zone per year, with help from each zone administrator and approval of youth board advisor. Funds raised may benefit the IEA, some other philanthropic cause (i.e therapeutic riding), or a combination of both.

IEA Youth Board Declaration of Candidacy

IEA rider members who wish to sit on the Youth Board must:

  • Have two years of IEA experience as an active member;
  • Complete all IEA Youth Board application requirements;
  • Applicants must choose to run for either Hunt Seat, Western, or Dressage. Cross over riders must declare a discipline for which to run;
  • Riders applying must be in 8th – 12th grades to be eligible.

IEA Youth Board Application Requirements

  • STEP #1Fill out the Google Form (orange button below) application completely including uploading a high quality photo of yourself.  (Best photos are from the waist up or closer.  Refer to photos below for examples.)
  • STEP #2 – Send this Google Link to each of your 2 references to fill out online.  One reference should be IEA related (coach, regional president, IEA staff, etc.).  The other reference should be non-IEA related (teacher, scout leader, non-relative, employer, non-equestrian coach, etc.) Please note that all reference letters must be received by the June 30, 2022 deadline.


  • In the event that the Google Link is not accessible for someone, a printable PDF application (purple button) can be found below. Once completed, applications and references may be emailed directly to:
  • The IEA will review all applications and confirm they meet he criteria listed above to hold a Youth Board position.
  • All active rider memb ers will receive a list of eligible candidates along with their photo and application via e-mail from IEA and will elect representatives within their area.
  • The results will be announced August 2022.

2022-2023 IEA Youth Board Application

  • Completed application form (either entirely on the Google Form or part on the Google Form and part on the downloadable PDF).
  • One letter of reference from your IEA coach.
  • One photo of yourself (best photos are headshots from the waist up or closer.  High resolution images are preferred.)

2021-2022 Youth Board Members

The following sixteen 2021-2022 Youth Board Representatives did a fantastic job in their Youth Board roles during the 20th Anniversary season and at National Finals.  They are great resources to learn more about serving and we would be happy to have any of them return again.

If you have any questions about the Youth Board or the application process, please feel free to contact the Youth Board Advisors, Susan Wentzel or Montana McKnight.

Hunt SeatZone 1SOPHIA BOUVIERBuzzards Bay, MAGrazing Fields Farm
Hunt SeatZone 2MIA SCOGMANILLOCentral Islip, NYParkview Equestrian Team
Hunt SeatZone 3KELSEY BARKERFredericksburg, VAHazelwild Farm
Hunt SeatZone 4BAILEY WHEELERPalm Harbor, FLRavenwood Farm
Hunt SeatZone 5ELLEN COCHRANECountryside, ILDouble J Riding Club
Hunt SeatZone 6No Representative at this time.
Hunt SeatZone 7ALYX SWOPE-BELLDecatur, AROzark Legends
Hunt SeatZone 8CAYTON HALEGilbert, AZRCR Farms
Hunt SeatZone 9RUBY STEGEMANSnoqualmie, WASharkey Farm
Hunt SeatZone 10SHANNON STRUNKStanford, CAWoodside Team
Hunt SeatZone 11JACQUELINE CHALIFOUXSewickley, PACandy Lane Acres
WesternRegion 4MCKINNEY ATKINSONPortal, GAFlamekissed Equestrian Team
WesternRegion 11LYNDSEY HOSKINSONMcDonald, PAMarciak/Caustelot Equestrian Team
WesternRegion 1REEGHAN MORAWIECPepperell, MANashoba Valley Sliders
WesternRegion 5(S)AUBREE WHANGERDelaware, OHConcord Equestrian Center
DressageRegion 11(W)ENZO FIORENTINOBedford, PAMystic Meadows Farm
DressageRegion 11(W)ABIGAIL GROVEBedford, PAMystic Meadows Farm