Dressage competitions for grades 4-12.

About the IEA Dressage Program:

  • Open to riders in grades 4-12.
  • Horse and tack assembled for all competitions by Host Team(s).
  • 2 Dressage Classes Offered – Dressage Test and Dressage Seat Equitation (DSE).
  • 3 Ability Levels for Dressage Test: Novice, Intermediate and Open.
  • Dressage Test classes utilize tests specifically designed for this unique type of competition.
  • 4 Ability Levels for DSE in Middle and Upper School:  Beginner, Novice, Intermediate and Open.
  • 4th or 5th grade riders can now be POINT RIDERS on middle school (Futures) teams and compete in any eligible division level.
  • DSE classes are primarily on the rail with possible tests for upper levels.
  • ASTM/SEI helmets are mandatory for all Dressage riders.
  • Zone and National Scholarship Awards available.
  • Competition season 2023-2024:  August 1 – April 1.
  • The 2024 IEA Dressage National Finals will be held in late April 25-28, 2024 at the Tryon International Equestrian Center in Mill Spring, NC.

If you are interested in starting a team, or finding a team in your area, please contact IEA membership Marketing Coordinator, Jennifer Eaton or by calling 1-877-RIDE-IEA x203

*Note- you’ll find the Dressage Addendum at the back of the IEA Rulebook.  It is available for download on the “Rules” page.