IEA News

IEA Announces Board of Directors

Monday, July 6, 2020 (Columbus, Ohio) – The Interscholastic Equestrian Association (IEA) Board of Directors recently approved the following slate of officers, founding board members and designees for the 2020-2021 IEA season with terms effective July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021. The twelve-member IEA Board of Directors is responsible for overseeing all the operations of the organization.


  • President: Katie Schaaf
  • President Elect: Amanda Garner
  • Secretary: Samantha Fleming *
  • Treasurer: Christy Landwehr

Founding Board Members & Designees:

  • Founding Member: Tim Boone
  • Designee for Wayne Ackerer (Founding Member): Nancy Arledge
  • Designee for Myron Leff (Founding Member): Katie Morehead *
  • Designee for Roxane Durant (Founding Member): Nancy Kohler-Cunningham

Members at Large:

  • Leah Fiorentino

* Indicates new board members

Rotating off the IEA Board from the 2019-2020 season is Gary Carpenter (Commissioner at National Reining Horse Association – NRHA) and Tammy Hurd-Harvey (Treasurer).

About the IEA Board Members:
Roxane Durant – Founding Member and IEA Executive Director
Myron Leff – Founding Member, IEA Chief Operating Officer and Director of Marketing
Tim Boone – Founding Member
Wayne Ackerer – Founding Member, former IEA Hunt Seat/Western Coach and Judge
Katie Schaaf – IEA Hunt Seat Coach, USEF ‘r” Judge
Amanda Garner – IEA Dressage Coach
Samantha Fleming – IEA Hunt Seat Coach
Christy Landwehr – Executive Director at Certified Horsemanship Association (CHA)
Nancy Arledge – IEA Hunt Seat and Dressage Coach
Katie Morehead – IEA Western Coach; Chair IEA Western Committee
Nancy Kohler-Cunningham – IHSA Coach, USEF ‘r” Judge
Leah Fiorentino – Executive Director at National Collegiate Equestrian Association (NCEA)