IEA National Sportsmanship Award

2023-2024 IEA National Sportsmanship Award Application Process

The Interscholastic Equestrian Association (IEA), awards a student-rider the National Sportsmanship Award each year. Applicants may be any active IEA rider in grades 4-12.

The national award winner will be selected from the group of riders who earned a Sportsmanship Award at a local, regional or zone IEA show during the school year. These Sportsmanship Award winners will receive an IEA Sportsmanship patch (pictured), and will be invited to submit an application for the National Sportsmanship Award.

Each award-winner applicant will present a personal resume that documents the following areas:

  • Equine-related activities and memberships: include any year-end or extraordinary awards
  • School-related activities including clubs, sports, leadership positions and any awards or honors
  • Community activities including volunteer organizations, community service, leadership positions and any awards or honors
  • An official school transcript that demonstrates a minimum 3.0 grade point average.

In addition, the applicants will compose a 250-word essay that explains how horses and/or equestrian competitions have influenced his/her life. Three recommendations are also needed; one from an equine professional, one from a teacher or school advisor and one from an additional person of the candidate’s choice.

The submissions will be judged by a designated IEA committee based upon the following criteria:

  • Active equestrian participant
  • Scholastic and extracurricular involvement
  • Characteristics that exemplify good sportsmanship and positive peer role model
  • Academic record of 3.0 or above

Applicants will place 1st-8th, as in other IEA National Competitions. Student-rider finalists from all IEA disciplines will be judged together.

The 1st place applicant will receive a $500.00 scholarship award from IEA, a lifetime membership to IEA, and they will be nominated by the IEA in affiliate sportsmanship award programs like: USHJA Affiliate Sportsmanship Award Program, USEF Youth Sportsman’s Award, and other similar programs, where applicable. His/her essay and a photo will appear in an IEA monthly newsletter and on IEA social media pages.

Additionally, the IEA will also award a $500.00 scholarship to the highest placing senior sportsman from the applications received.

This award is made possible in part by a generous sponsorship from the EQUUS FOUNDATION.  (

Please submit your application materials as immediately as possible, but no later than May 10, 2024.

All materials must be submitted by the due date to be eligible for consideration.

Submissions may be e-mailed to the IEA Membership Office
(Please note “National Sportsmanship Award” in the subject line.)
or fax:
IEA Membership Office
Attn: National Sportsmanship Award
Fax: 1-508-597-7373

The Final awards will be announced in July 2024.

2023 Winner, Lillian Muzzy