IEA News

IEA Appoints 2018-2019 Western Committee

The Interscholastic Equestrian Association (IEA) Board of Directors recently approved the slate of members for the 2018-2019 IEA Western Committee.

The Western Committee was re-instated in 2017 as a way to assist the IEA with the Western Zone restructuring and the creation of the Semi-Finals format. Western Committee members are made up of IEA Western Coaches and affiliates from across the United States and serve in a volunteer capacity during the season.

“We’ve seen a lot of positive and challenging changes in the Western Division over the past several years,” says IEA Executive Director Roxane Durant. “The Western Committee is essential in helping us communicate with our membership with a strategic eye as we increase our participation in the western and southern part of the United States.”

In addition to focusing on membership growth, the Western Committee will be tasked with acclimating the newly appointed Western Zone Administrator as well as helping plan the Western Semi-Finals and National Finals shows with Semi-Finals Coordinator, Todd Knerr, National Finals Coordinator, Bernie Villeneuve, and Sales Representative, Megan Taylor.

The following members have been appointed to the 2018-2019 Western Committee:

Katie Morehead, Committee Chair
KM Equestrian – Findlay, Ohio (Region 5-1)
Jessica Bein
Arizona Reining Equestrian Team – Scottsdale, Arizona (Region 8)
Bobby Dean
Mountaineer Equestrian Team – Waynesburg, Pennsylvania (Region 11)
Roger Elder
Last Lap Ranch – Maryville, Tennessee (Region 4)
Ollie Griffith
Autumn Rose Farm Equestrian Team – Dublin Ohio (Region 5-2)
Mark Guynn
Rocky Mountain Wranglers – Berthoud, Colorado (Region 8)
Rebecca Halvorson
Halvorson Ranch – Guthrie, Oklahoma (Region 7)
Stephanie Lynn
Director of Operations – National Snaffle Bit Association (NSBA) – Gurnee, Illinois
Chris McElyea
Grier School – Tyrone, Pennsylvania (Region 11)
Amber Viera
Hillside Meadows – Acushnet, Massachusetts (Region 1)

Additional committee members include IEA Staff Members:
Roxane Durant – Co-Founder and Executive Director
Myron Leff – Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer
Jennifer Eaton – Membership Marketing Coordinator
Kimber Whanger – Communications Coordinator