Columbus, Ohio – November 11, 2016 – The Interscholastic Equestrian Association (IEA) is pleased to announce the 2016-2017 Youth Board Members. This is the second year for the youth board. "The intention of the Youth Board is to provide adult IEA members and leadership an avenue to hear the youth voice and to offer an opportunity for leadership to IEA youth members," said IEA Education Committee Chair, Amanda Garner. The Youth Board was created by IEA's Education Committee and has a seat for a Hunt Seat and Western representative for each zone. After an extensive application and election process, the new Youth Board members for IEA's 15th Anniversary season are:

Zone 1 (New England):

  • Hunt Seat Representative: Shannon Gorsky – a senior from Tolland, Connecticut and member of Full Circle Farm team
  • Western Representative: Grace Markowski – a junior from Grafton, Massachusetts and member of Hillside Meadows team

Zone 2 (Mid-East):

  • Hunt Seat Representative: Kimberly Pokstis – a senior from Warwick, New York and member of Greystone Stables team
  • Western Representative: Anna Lia Sullivan – a senior from Southampton, New Jersey and member of Saddlebrook Equestrian Center team

Zone 3 (Upper Southeast):

  • Hunt Seat Representative: Elizabeth Trexler – a senior from Chatham, Virginia and member of Chatham Hall

Zone 4 (Lower Southeast):

  • Hunt Seat Representative: Abbe Humphries – a junior from Dunwoody, Georgia and member of Fortitude Farm team

Zone 5 (Great Lakes):

  • Hunt Seat Representative: Hayley Carsonie – a senior from Hilliard, Ohio and member of Sid Griffith’s Equestrian Team
  • Western Representative: Keegan Lammers – a junior from Delaware, Ohio and member of Team JGPH

Zone 7 (Central South/Lower Plains):

  • Hunt Seat Representative: Alexandra Prymek – a senior from Shreveport, Louisiana and member of Hidden Acres Equestrian team
  • Western Representative: Madison Vance – a junior from Pawnee, Oklahoma and member of Diamond V Ranch Equestrians team

Zone 8 (South West/Rocky Mountains):

  • Hunt Seat Representative: Fallon O’Connell – a junior from Scottsdale, Arizona and member of Scottsdale Equestrian Team

Zone 10 (West Coast):

  • Hunt Seat Representative: Alex Bischoff – a sophomore from Simi Valley, California and member of Elvenstar UH team

Each of these representatives submitted their application for candidacy with a resume and two letters of recommendation. After verifying each application, an election was held in each zone and the members of that zone elected their representative. The IEA Youth Board will board will be counseled by two IEA Alumni and two IEA advisors:

  • Alumni Representative – Hannah Bentz from Boca Raton, Florida and former member of Wall Street Farm Wellington IEA Team
  • Alumni Representative – Aubrey Braham from Grove City, Pennsylvania and former member of Grove City Area Equestrian Team
  • Adult Advisor – Sharalyn Prieskorn, IEA Membership Office Coordinator and Advisor
  • Adult Advisor – Sue Wentzel, IEA National Steward