The Interscholastic Equestrian Association (IEA), in conjunction with the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA), awards a student-rider the National Sportsmanship Award each year. The national award winner has been selected from the group of riders who earned a Sportsmanship Award at a local, regional or zone IEA show during the school year.

Of the 140 sportsmanship applications, the top, eight winners are:

  1. Kate Coffey, a sophomore from Westford, Massachusetts, who rides at North Gate Equestrian Team
  2. Jada Fields, a junior from Castle Pines, Colorado, who rides at Mile High Equestrian
  3. Tori Brunvand, an eighth-grader from Durango, Colorado, who rides for the Silverpeak Equestrian Team
  4. Olivia Tencer, a sophomore from Unionville, Connecticut, who rides for the Avon Valley Show Stables
  5. Mikayla Hay, a junior from North Judson, Indiana, who rides for Culver Academies
  6. Lauren Rinda, a senior from Malvern, Pennsylvania, who rides for Great Valley Equestrian
  7. Mia Gibson, an eighth-grader from Chesapeake, Virginia, who rides for Fox Ridge Farm
  8. Hannah Nandor, a junior from Simi Valley, California, who rides for Fieldstone Riding Club CA

Kate Coffey, a rider on the North Gate Equestrian Team of Sudbury, Massachusetts, received a five hundred dollar ($500.00) scholarship from the IEA, a lifetime membership to the IEA and a nomination by the IEA to affiliate sportsmanship award programs. The IHSA awarded Coffey a keeper trophy and her name engraved on a perpetual Sportsmanship Award trophy. Coffey placed third in the National Sportsmanship rankings for the 2014-2015 season. 

Special thanks to the finalist judges:

  • Patte Zumbrun from Goucher College
  • Cricket Morris from Averett University
  • Amanda Garner from University of North Georgia/IEA Board of Directors
  • Sharalyn Prieskorn from the IEA Membership Office
Sportsmanship Award Logo